Peruvian takes Nobel for literature

Thursday 7th October 2010
Mario Vargas Llosa

Mario Vargas Llosa, or 'super Mario' as one admirer dubbed him, Peruvian writer, novelist, critic, journalist, screenwriter and essayist, recipient of almost every literary award is now awarded the Nobel for literature and joins Gabriel Garcia Márquez with whom he has enjoyed a 30 year old feud.

The Swedish Academy praises him "for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat" in a career that spans from 1963 with The Time of the Hero, and includes 30 novels, among them Conversation in the Cathedral (1969), Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter (1977) and The Feast of the Goat (2000) as well as essays and plays.

Custom Search

Scotland, Computer News in Scotland, Technology News in Scotland, Computing in Scotland, Web news in Scotland computers, Internet, Communications, advances in communications, communications in Scotland, Energy, Scottish energy, Materials, Biomedicine, Biomedicine in Scotland, articles in Biomedicine, Scottish business, business news in Scotland.

Website : beachshore